News and Events

Plants of Paradise Art Exhibition : Works by the Florilegium Society April 2 – May 31, 2018

Featured artists
Melanie Campbell-Carter : Esther Carpi : Jane Goldsmith : Veronica Fannin : Asuka Hishiki : Wendy Hollender : Robin Jess : Geraldine MacKinnon : Mali Moir : John Pastoriza-Piñol : Kelly Leahy Radding : Ariel Ramseth : Trudy Rehbock : Catherine Watter

In the spring of 2017, artists from around the U.S., Australia, Chile and Japan came together for the second year of the National Tropical Botanical Garden Florilegium. Unlike other florilegia, artists spent two weeks working alongside one another, sharing and experiencing the garden together. This work session produced the stunning pieces being exhibited, today. Botanic illustration is a perfect example of the nexus between the arts and science, where accurate depiction is of primary importance but the artistry and intentions of the artist is allowed shine through. Florilegia are steeped in tradition with roots dating to the 16th century. Some Florilegia, like the Banks’ Florilegium, record plants found on vast voyages of exploration. Today, they continue to be a vibrant, dynamic, and effective way of documenting flora from a particular region or collection in a botanic garden. NTBG is proud to support the tradition of botanical illustration through educational courses, internships, and special projects.

For more information please call: 808-332-7324 ext.227
National Tropical Botanical Garden
3530 Papalina Road
Kalaheo, HI, 96741

The Florilegium: Royal Botanic Gardens, Sydney at Kew April 4th – 16th September 2018

Florilegium, literally a gathering of flowers, was first used to describe a publication that focused on the beauty of plants, rather than their medicinal value. In this beautiful exhibition, you’ll learn more about Kew’s connection with Australia through 89 works of art on plants growing in the Royal Botanic Gardens, Sydney and the surrounding area. On display are the works of 64 Australian and international artists. It illustrates the richness and diversity of plants grown by the Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain Trust.

For more information click here.

The Transylvania Florilegium Exhibition 21st May – 12th June 2018

The Romanian Cultural Institute 1Belgrave Square, London, SW1X 8PH
‘”Good observation” is the hallmark of the year’s most handsome and expensive book The Transylvania Florilegium with paintings by master-artists on exquisite paper immortalise Transylvanian wildflowers texts by professional field botanists each of the 150 limited edition is signed by HRH the Prince of Wales…’ Robin Lane Fox FT Weekend 16/17 December 2017 – House & Home

For more information click here

Flora of Australia, a Botanical Art Worldwide Exhibition. 18 May to 27 May 2018, Ainslie Art Centre, ACT

This exhibition will bring together artists and the public to highlight the role contemporary botanical artists play in calling attention to the need to preserve our botanical diversity with artworks themed on the native plants of each participating country. Countries participating include Australia, Bermuda, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Republic of Korea, Russia, South Africa, United Kingdom and the United States.
Each county will schedule an opening event on 18th May 2018. This 24 hour around the world, following the sun event, will maximise focus on the message “linking people with plants through contemporary botanical art.” Participating countries will provide digital slide shows of up to 40 works, to be compiled with all of the other countries images and shown at each venue during the run of the exhibition. Johns artwork, Banksia prionotes has been selected by the judges for inclusion in the Worldwide Slideshow.

For more information click here